Rust has rekindled old memories

Started by alfarally, November 19, 2011, 09:14:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

alfarally

Hi to everyone,
I just replaced the sill on a customers 105 GTV and the love of these old alfa's has come flooding back.
A 1968 105 Berlina 1750 was my first car 25 odd years ago and man was it a brilliant thing. Then I had a 1967 I think 1300 Giulia when I lived in Italy for a couple of years in the early 90's meaning I drove the oldest car on the road there. As I was racing cars for a living then and fuel was ultra expensive, once up to speed I never slowed down so as not to need to accelerate up to speed again and I remember that 4 tyres would be worn out in 6 months such was the way that car would drift through corners.
Just the smell of the GTV, the sound the feel has brought it all back.
I will post some pics of the sill replacement up on the tech section when I get a chance and look forward to being part of your forum.
Rob

Evan Bottcher

Welcome Rob,

What kind of racing were you doing for a living in Italy?

cheers,
Evan.
Newest to oldest:
'13 Alfa Mito QV
'77 Alfasud Ti
'74 Alfasud Sedan
'68 1750 GTV
--> Slow and Fun - my Alfa journal

alfarally

Was there in 92 and raced Formula Ford. Went with that because I had been doing FF in Australia and went on to race in UK but the formula alfa/33? looked good too. From memory the cars were basically like FF but used the 33 boxer 16V, gearbox and numerous other components off the road cars with slicks and wings.

colcol

Sounds like a good project for a bloke in the club with a green Sprint, an open wheeler with wings and slicks with a 16valve 33 motor and gearbox, almost like a Formula 1 Alfa Brabham with a Boxer Motor, Colin.
1974 VW Passat [ist car] 1984 Alfa 33TI [daily driver] 2002 Alfa 156 JTS [daily driver]

Ray Pignataro