Alfa 90 query

Started by DiVaN, April 16, 2009, 04:26:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DiVaN

hey everyone,

I'm new to the alfa scene - im interested in getting an Alfa 90 - now i have read extensively about the mechanical woe's of the model and the electrical gremlins that haunt the digital dash... my main concern is rust - no reviews or forums (thus far) have really made mention whether this model is prone to rust like most other older alfa's. I have heard that from 1986 on rust isnt so much an issue due to a change from using russian steel...

would anyone be able to enlighten me on this issue - im startingt to get the alfa fever now..  :o

Thanks in advance!
Rob  ;D

dehne

Hi there i believe i can qualify in giving advise on this subject, rust is not much of an issue in the 90 but places to check is the b pillar in between the front and rear door, and the bottom of the front guards thats about it. there are plenty out there you just need to find one you will pay up to $2500. they are around cheaper ive never payed more than $500 for one and ive had a few
i knowof a couple for sale if ur interested hope that helps
where are you located
now
1x 85 mdl road 90
2013 Giulietta 1.4
2015 Launch Edition Giulietta
Past
Multiple Alfa 90's, Alfetta's and 147's

MD

Rob, rust hasn't been a material issue for cars imported from around 1982 onwards. There is a carry over of rusting for cars prior to this time and to varying degrees but it shouldn't be an issue for the 90.

If you have your heart set on a 90, by all means. However you may consider the 75 alternative as under the skin they are essentially the same car. The benefit of the 75 over the 90 is a larger production and hence the availability of parts and especially body, trim and the like. This may become an issue over time.

I also think the 75 enjoys? a slighty better resale value however at the end of the day, you gotta be happy with what you like.
Transaxle Alfas Haul More Arse.

Current Fleet