Early vs Late GTV6

Started by Rob Berson, January 04, 2009, 07:44:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rob Berson

Are there many differences between an early GTV6 with split instument panel and a later model and would one expect much of a price differenece betwwen the two assuming they are in the same condition?  Would condition be more important than build year in terms of purchasing a car?

Thanks
Rob

1750GT

Rob I am not an expert but I would have thought that aside from some special models such as the GTV6 GP which in my mind is the car to get if you are after something special, but hard to find, the later the GTV6 the better as the later models got the 3lt motor, body  add on's and drive train upgrades. Generally however low klm's, proper servicing, minimal owners, owner service books etc. and most importantly cars that have not been modified or raced (unless your looking for a race special) are the way to go.

If you google the Alfa GTV6 GP you will be able to get info: on this vehicle. Heres one for sale at mille miglia motors in Melbourne with pics -http://www.alfauto.com.au/indexf.htm - I note that I am not vouching for this car, I found it when searching for another item.

Good Luck 1750GT

pep105

Hi Rob,

With the early GTV6 (83 intro) apart from the split dash, there was a different interior which was either grey or beige velour, seats had black stripes through them, like the 81 - 83 GTV plastic bumper 2 litre interior.

The window frames were body colour and the gtv6 badge script on the hatch was in lower case. Mechanically there wasnt much difference (apart from isotatic gearbox which came later) from memory. Engine was leaded 117kw version.