Oil Catch Can - 2.0 JTS Engine

Started by arash79, August 21, 2020, 01:48:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

arash79

HI Guys,

I'm new to the this forum and had a question to ask.

I have recently bought a 2003 Spider and later found out that it has a direct injected engine. 
I know from previous experience that direct injected engine have a tenancy for the intake valve to cake up with carbon.  For this reason i was to install an oil catch can to prevent any blow by gases from entering back into the intake manifold.
I did notice however that there are two pipes connecting from the valve cover to before and after the throttle body.  For this reason i'm unsure which of the pipes to connect the catch can to.

If anybody has install a catch can onto this engine before and can shed some light on the situation that will be greatly appreciated.

I have uploaded some pictures for reference.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/115mz6XMqzGCr6DYzVxTumJvq8DMZ8wXq/view?usp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1uncKzVrdYoUw_DN-nzp7Ye97UORM2BHJ/view?usp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1bqROlqk4CVg9fXXng6tCy33sSF8WQSyE/view?usp=sharing

Colin Edwards

Hi Arash79.

I have not fitted a catch can to a JTS, however the pipe downstream of the throttle body would be the one under engine vacuum and the route most likely used to vent (and burn) blow by vapours. 
Although it looks like a fair bit of work with the engine installed, it may be worth looking down the inlet tract with a borescope to ascertain the condition of the inlet valves.  Fitting suitably engineered inspection plugs to the inlet manifold has been done in the past.  The plugs are removed say every 20k to look at the inlet tract condition and ascertain if cleaning is required.  The cleaning seems to be very effective.  You may not need to do any cleaning if low volitility oil has been used.
Present
2023 Tonale Veloce
2018 Abarth 124 Spider
1987 75 3.0

Past
2020 Giulietta Veloce
2015 Giulietta QV