2003 156 Selespeed JTS Sportswagon

Started by Tassiebob, November 29, 2015, 11:06:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tassiebob

Hi, just joined this group and recently acquired (last week) 156 as above, very cheap from motivated vendor, very tidy inside and out, 105,000 km, seems to have fresh "Hi-Tec" oil (never heard of it) but previous history unknown.  Goes like a rocket but engine is distinctly rattly, some of it tappets but another sound like loose cam chain (yes I know it has belt). Diagnostics ok, no other problems apparent. I am a mechanic 40yr+. Anyone care to comment?

colcol

These JTS engines are intolerant to dirty oil, if you don't have a service history, the oil changes might have been skipped.
Because of the direct injection the oil gets contaminated with petrol and results in worn camshafts, as in the lobes wear off, but you say it has good power.
The positive or negative grind on the camshaft lobes will wear off and cause the hydraulic lifters not to rotate and the lifter face will get a groove worn in it and become noisy.
Take the cam cover off and see the condition of the camshafts, the cam cover is held in by some fasteners.
On one of the workshop nights we had with an Alfa Romeo Independant, he had a pile of JTS camshafts with worn lobes, the twin sparks don't seem to suffer from this problem.
Hope this helps, Colin.
1974 VW Passat [ist car] 1984 Alfa 33TI [daily driver] 2002 Alfa 156 JTS [daily driver]

Craig_m67

Do the JTS engines have the noisey cam variator like the earlier twinspark?
That is also a source of noise that is often overlooked, variator still works, just noisy.
'66 Duetto (lacework of doom)
'73 1600 GT Junior (ensconced)
'03 156 1.9JTD Sportwagon (daily driver)

colcol

Craig, you are right, the JTS does have a cam variator like the twin spark, and it is usually on startup when cold, when the oil has drained off overnight it will be noisy, i have been told it makes your car sound like a diesel.