75 TX valve

Started by ALF750, January 30, 2015, 01:02:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ALF750

Hi all, just wondering if anyone has had to replace a tx valve in the 75TS?   I'm looking into resurrecting my aircon.   System is still in place and connected, but has not been used in some time.   I have a R134 compressor located, dryer should be easy to get, but I'm hoping I won't need the TX valve replaced.   Also, where is the aircon relay?   Mine isn't switching on either at present.  thanks.

colcol

I have no experience of 75 airconditioners, just auto airconditioners in general.
The Thermal Expansion Valve is usually a swine to get at, but if its easy to get at it, then replace it, as they are not too expensive, but make sure you get the right one, either R12 or R134A, as they are different.
Dryer's are usually easyish to get at, located at the front of the car, some cars need the bumper removing, usually the newer cars, once again, get the correct dryer for the gas used, R12 or R134A.
If you have a R134A compressor, then the car has been converted to the newer gas, that was made standard in new cars after 1992 following the demise of R12.
Relay could be anywhere, very important with 75's, as they don't have a high carrying amperage ignition switch, ignition switch should turn on relay to supply juice for airconditioner, listen for clicks when you turn on key, Colin.
1974 VW Passat [ist car] 1984 Alfa 33TI [daily driver] 2002 Alfa 156 JTS [daily driver]

MD

QuoteSystem is still in place and connected

That's good. Chances are no rubbish has got into the gas lines to block up the TX valve. However you wont know until you recommission the system by which time it will be too late. Hard call either way.
In any case it is located on the drivers side behind the heater control valve. Given its location, it is a difficult job to remove and replace it so don't be under any illusion.