Coolant for 156

Started by colcol, April 01, 2012, 08:26:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

colcol

Hello all, i have been using Nulon green coolant in my 156 JTS, for about 2 years now, because i have used Nulon green coolant in the 33 for about 20 years, and i reckon Nulon is good stuff, recently, i have noticed rust in the surge tank and upon opening the  blue pressure cap, there was a fair bit of rust in it, so i decided that it may not suit the 156, so i checked the Nulon website and they recommended Nulon 'red', that is mixed to a ratio of 50-50, the Nulon green was ok for motorsport, due to being not too slippery and that it dries quicker on a track, but the Nulon 'red' has no such recomendations, i worked it out that i needed about 4 litres, so i went to Repco and they only had 2.5 litres for $33, so i purchased that, then i went to Bursons up the road and they had 5 litres for $42, mmm, should have gone there first, i will keep a look at how it goes in the next few months and see if the coolant goes rusty, what do the other 147 & 156 drivers use in their cooling system?, Colin.
1974 VW Passat [ist car] 1984 Alfa 33TI [daily driver] 2002 Alfa 156 JTS [daily driver]

wankski

paraflu UP is the recommended coolant for alfa. it is an OAT type coolant.

nulon red is an OAT coolant and will be suitable.

the coolant capacity is much greater than what you're saying.... i think what happened is you mixed green with what was in there and it reacted and u see that as browish sludge and deposits...

check your manual.

full coolant flush for the v6 is 10l. i suspect the 4 cylinder will be similar... don;t forget to put the heater on to flush that too. run water then replace coolant.

i use nulon flush in the old coolant, empty... filtered water, empty, then nulon red premix (50/50 w/ demineralised water)

Davidm1600