Total electrical failure - 1750GTV registered race car

Started by mbakermarco, June 08, 2013, 08:26:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mbakermarco

Hi there

I'd been working on the car in the air filter area and went to road test the car to find a dead electrical system - I'm not very good with auto electrics ! - Any ideas ?

Battery charged and tested as ok
starter motor is getting current
Both sides of isolator switch have current
Red wire to starter now has new connector

I have no horn (but I can take a tablet for that !) No indicators / headlights / dash lights / ignition lights, nothing !

And ultimately, no start.

Any inspiration would be gratefully received !

Mark Baker

Mark Baker
0400 792090
Current
GTV 3.0 24v / Giulietta 1.4T / Alfetta sedan racecar
Past.....
105 1750 GTV Racecar
3 x 916 2.0 TS GTV
Sprint 1500 prod racecar
33 1500 mod race car
33 16v prod racecar x 2
Tipo 2.0 16v Group N prod race car
2 x 127 1300GT prod racers
1.2 Alfasud
2 x Fiat 124 Coupes

colcol

Check earth wire from battery, check that fusebox is getting 12+volts, and ignition switch is getting 12 volts and if it is see if the 'ignition on' wire has some juice, double check that isolator, they can be a source of all sorts of problems, just get a 12 volt test lamp onto the battery and work your way through the car, best of luck, Colin.
1974 VW Passat [ist car] 1984 Alfa 33TI [daily driver] 2002 Alfa 156 JTS [daily driver]

mbakermarco

Thanks Colin - have been using test lamp and have a new multimeter - not yet used - thats tomorrows job - thanks again - much appreciated.

Kind Regards

Mark Baker
Mark Baker
0400 792090
Current
Past.....
105 1750 GTV Racecar
3 x 916 2.0 TS GTV
Sprint 1500 prod racecar
33 1500 mod race car
33 16v prod racecar x 2
1.2 Alfasud
2 x Fiat 124 Coupes

MD

Mark,
Just adding a little to Col's advices.