105 Panhard Rod Conversion

Started by Colin Byrne, January 25, 2009, 06:09:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Colin Byrne

hi guys,  competing in Targa again this year and we discovered the rules of our class has changed and we're able to add a pan hard rod now.  So here are a couple of photos of the mount on the axle.  I'm still waiting for some laser cutting for the body mount and will add more photo's as more gets done.  Aim to have it all done for Winton next month
72' 105 2000 GTV Red (tarmac rally/race car)
74' 105 2000 GTV Blue (road car)
68' 105 1600 Giulia Super White (Not sure yet)
01' Nissan Pathfinder (Tow car/Alfa support vehicle)

Scott Farquharson

Scott Farquharson
Group A Dulux Alfetta GTV6
Group S Alfetta GTV
Alfetta GT (GTAM?)

Nick Shardey

Hi Colin, I'm fairly new to all this, can you please explain the benefits/purpose of a panhard rod.

Thanks

Nick
64 105 Track Car (under resto now)

Colin Byrne

Thanks Scott

Hi Nick
The T-piece that provides the lateral location of the rear axle on 105 has a few drawbacks.  One of them is the rear roll center is determined by the point at which the t-piece connects to the diff.  As this is at the top of the diff 105's have a very high rear roll center, coupling this with the low front roll center (particularly if you lower the car) you end up with a very steep roll axes.  This is one of the main reasons for the "twitchiness" of 105's and the need to run very stiff front springs and very soft rear ones, which can introduce problems of its own.  So the main reason for the addition of the pan hard rod is to lower the rear roll center.