Hi all

Started by deemac66, May 05, 2012, 09:00:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

deemac66

Hi all, I'm (obviously) new to these forums just posting to say Hi.
I'm a second generation mechanic running my own hoist repair business in SA.
I currently have a 2002 156 JTS selespeed (yeh, I know sucker for punishment). Engine is in pieces ATM with a rod through the side and worn cams, the Selespeed actuator is also leaking, so I have a few projects to go. Previously owned a 2000 156 twin spark Monza (which snapped the belt :o was told by the salesman the belt had been changed) and currently looking for another twin spark for my partner.
Now:
White '84 GTV6
Red '03 156 JTS Selespeed
Black '02 156 JTS Selespeed
2 X White '89 33 1.7 IE
Red '86 33

Then:
Blue '00 156 t/spark Selespeed
Black '03 147

colcol

Hello deemac66, welcome to the forum, i also have a 2002 JTS, but mines a manual, cause i love changing gears, as you most likely know by now, they put rods through the blocks when they run out of oil and they wear the cams out when the oil isn't changed on time and it gets cotaminated with petrol, and can be caused by too much city running and or not warming up and only being used on short runs, the oil gets contaminated, this can be cured by taking for a good blast now and then, and the oil to use is 10-60 fully synthetic racing oil of your favourite oil maker, cam belts should be changed at 50,000klms or 3 years, or whichever comes first, when i purchased my 156, i too was told when the cam belt was last changed, by the salesman, but was releived when the time rolled around for me to change it, then i knew it had been done, the twin sparks and JTS's drink a bit of oil, so check the oil level on a weekly basis, but they are great cars, look after yours and it will return the favour, Colin.
1974 VW Passat [ist car] 1984 Alfa 33TI [daily driver] 2002 Alfa 156 JTS [daily driver]

deemac66