n00b 75 questions

Started by shiny_car, May 10, 2011, 02:13:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

shiny_car

Bear with me. Restoring my 75 3.0 is going to be the most mechanical work I've ever done on a car, so it'll be a quick and steep learning curve. But I thought I'd better ask!

1. when changing engine/transaxle oils, can the sump plugs be reused?
2. is a sealant necessary around the threads of the sump plugs? And/or will this make reusing the plugs possible?
3. what about the sump plug gasket/washer?
4. what engine oil do you guys recommend for the 12V 3.0 L-Jet? I have read varying opinions (not surprisingly), but one of my concerns is that a 'modern fully synthetic' oil does not have some of the additives of older mineral oils that may be protective; I don't fully buy into this, but nor do I have an engineering degree; if you have a favourite oil, I'd like to hear about it (brand/series/grade)
5. tappets: is there a good (ie: well-priced, readily available) Melbourne supplier of tappets? And will they compare favourably in price with US-sourced tappets (eg: Centerline or Alfissimo) - do they really cost US$30-40 each?
6. what petrol? I've read anechdotes that 98RON is 'less agreeable' (eg: rougher idle) than 95RON?!

In case it helps, my engine overhaul DIY plans include:
*removing oil sump and cam covers for cleaning out any oil gunk; new gaskets
*fitting brand new 164S cams and therefore new tappets
*checking and fixing any valve clearance anomalies
*overhaul the hydraulic tensioner with a rebuild kit

I was planning on:
*Motul 300V 10W40 engine oil (fully synthetic, high ester)
*Redline 75W90NS gearbox oil
*Mobil 98RON premium

The car will run the standard ECU, have a hiperformancestore.com air intake kit, and a full CSC exhaust w/cats. It will be a 'fast street' car; no track work. So it'll be doing a combination of city driving and fast blast, but used irregularly.

TIA :)
Giulietta QV TCT . 1.75 TBi . Magnesio Grey - Black