Hopeful alfa romeo owner

Started by Sam Hope, December 24, 2010, 04:43:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sam Hope

First, id like to comment on the fact that, when i think of Alfa Romeo heritage, i think of racing, not town cars. too me a while to get it.

Anyway My name is Sam, im studying business and social sciences next year and will be driving a good hour and a half to university next year. The issue being that i have no car, My first car was a 1.5L sohc Daewoo Lanos. You're all going to laugh when i say this, but it was a fun car to drive. I actively enjoyed driving it. Its gone now though.

Next year i will need a car, but i have a few criteria.

• It must be fun to drive. I have driven quite a range of cars for an 18 year old and most are dull, the only two i have appreciated are my mothers 1953 morris with a 2.0L toyota motor and my daewoo.
  • It must be comfortable. I have to drive over 2 hours a day in this thing.
  • It must be reliable. I can't have a car that breaks down monthly.
  • It must be fun on the track, I intend on going to track days rather regularly and it doesn't have to be competitive, but it has to be something i can enjoy driving around the track
  • It must be a car to be proud of. In the coming years i will be trying to network with business men and people in high places for my own advantage. Imagine will be rather important for this. not a major thing but turning up in a rusted out datsun isn't really going to do the job.
  • It must be <$7500

It is because of this list i am here. I have always had a love for alfa romeos for as long as i could remember and early next year i intend on buying my first alfa romeo. I am looking at a v6 156 or a 3.0l alfa 75 but possibly a 90, 164 or 166. depending on what is available in my price range near me on the time and what i enjoy driving the most when i try them.