105 Bosch distributor advice

Started by Mr Frog, September 30, 2010, 09:33:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mr Frog

I am looking for a new distributor, and came across this on the Alfaholics site. I'm no mechanic or auto electrician, and would like to hear members' comments:

Rebuilt Bosch distributor with remapped ignition advance

Fully rebuilt Bosch distributor with a remapped and optimised advance curve. The Bosch distributors fitted to most Alfa Romeo 105 Series cars have proved to be unsuitable for use with modern fuels because the original advance curves set by Bosch were designed for the old 4 star leaded fuel which has a different burn rate to that of modern fuels and was inherently less prone to detonation. As a result, compromises need to be made to the timing and this usually takes the form of reducing the maximum advance at speed in order to avoid dangerous detonation. However, this results in an unfavourable reduction of the idle setting, which causes erratic low speed running and poor starting.

These rebuilt distributors have been recalibrated to make the advance curve more suitable for modern fuels thereby achieving the correct maximum and static ignition advance. They are supplied with best quality new points, rotor arm, cap and condenser and are ready to fit to your car. You can also specify an electronic points system to be fitted at the same time to further enhance the performance of your new distributor.

We supply these distributors with suitable advance curves for either standard, tuned or full race engines of all capacities.

Other units are available on the market with fancy technology but, since they do not actually address the root cause of the problem, i.e. that modern fuels require a different advance curve from those originally used, they cannot achieve the smooth running and excellent driveability of these rebuilt distributors.

These are superb and are fitted to all Alfaholics cars running distributors!

branko.gt