Introducing myself.

Started by duncombemu, May 26, 2007, 12:25:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

duncombemu

I'm new to Alfas. This is how I got started and it all happened by chance.

Here is my story (so far).

I was up at our local garbage centre and I noticed out the back, where all the old car bodies wait until the crusher arrives, to scratch some duco and do some damage. There, just sitting next to an old and very second hand Falcon, was a Red Alfa 33. I wandered over to take a closer look and to my surprise, not a dent or scratch on it. Even inside was clean and tidy. The key was still in the ignition.  ???The only problem, it had no wheels.

So I came home and grabbed some 4 X 100's, to fix the 'lack of height' problem. I now know that 33's wear 4 X 98's. Anyway, these 100's were close enough to get her home. The fellow minding the place didn't even mind me taking the car home and gave it to me for nothing. "Take it away!" :-X

A friend and I went around and bolted the wheels on (only two wheel bolts per wheel) and towed it home.

The next day I stuck a battery in it, crossed my fingers and turned the key, expecting nothing. Like, why would I expect this car to start, if I found it on the tip? Well, to my surprise it spluttered into life, if only briefly. When I found the Choke knob, in that tricky place under the steering wheel, I pulled it out, a few pumps on the accelerator pedal and turned the key again.  Away she went spluttering and coughing, as she rattled into life.  :PWow! So now will she move under her own steam?

Into first gear and let the clutch out. She moved forward. Into reverse and she went back. But she was only running on 3 cylinders and wouldn't idle.

So I started to see if anything else around me, worked. To my amazement, everything worked fine. Even the radio/cassette worked fine and the electric windows were good too. There was even ¾ of a tank of Petrol in the tank. I'm 'in front' already. ;D