Stop smoke, negative side effects?

Started by DBonelli, September 09, 2010, 11:29:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DBonelli

Hi, I have a mostly original 1978 GTV. The car has the original engine build and as to be expected has a bit of wear and is blowing a bit of smoke. I am currently using HRP-30 oil and was going to change this to HPR-50 and also use stop smoke \ engine honey in the new oil change. Wondering if there are any negative side effects from doing this, if although it may fix a short term problem will it end up causing a bigger long term issue?

Darren

dehne

ive been using this for about 6 years with every oil change i do i but in stop smoke and a stop engine stop leak as well, have not had any probs to date
now
1x 85 mdl road 90
2013 Giulietta 1.4
2015 Launch Edition Giulietta
Past
Multiple Alfa 90's, Alfetta's and 147's

alfagtv152

Hi Darren,
I used Penrite HPR 50 and no smoke for years in my original 1979 GTV motor including sprinting and running 10lbs boost with a Supercharger(approx 3 yrs)when it had done 280,000km plus.When I disassembled it after eventually breaking a ring land(to many revs)the internals were as clean as a whistle and in perfect order except for a broken ring land and a bearing shell nearly ready to fail,I guess the wearing parts were allowed to be worn out at that mileage but crank,cams&buckets,etc were all ok.
I have no hesitation recommending Penrite oils,HPR 40 minimum for track work,in the old engines unless they have been made to much finer tolerances than original,for a high miler go for the 50 and no smoke,it will still go good.
Cheers
Andrew
SEE YOUR BACKSIDE TRACKSIDE.White 156 TI JTS,Silly Speed.

MD

alfagtv152  is the only guy I know that gets around Mallalla Racing Circuit fast enough to catch his own smoke... ;D ;D

onya buddy
Transaxle Alfas Haul More Arse.

Current Fleet
Alfetta GTV6 3.0
Alfetta GTV Twin Spark supercharged racer
75 1.8L supercharged racer

Past Fleet
Alfa GT 3.2V6
Alfetta GTV 2.0