replacing the timing belt and sundry items

Started by johnnyc, October 23, 2010, 11:47:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

johnnyc

dear all,

i need some advice.

when replacing the timing belt what parts do you require in order to do the job properly.

. apart from the obvious like the belt itself, my internet trolling points to items such as the timing belt bearing, detentioner kit and sometimes the water pump. i dont know if mine is stuffed or not and am waiting on advice from mechanic.

there also seems to be a lot of chat on various sites about a "mechanical tentioner". I am not a mechanic so dont have any idea how that item fits into the scheme of things, nor do I know if it is better or worse than what was originally installed in the motor.

i am keen to get an idea of what is required with this job so I can at least have some sort of mildly intelligent conversation with the mechanic and have some idea of what he is saying to me.

any input would be greatly appreciated. I have looked at sourcing bits from the US/UK as I have found some suppliers in australia pretty slack in responding to queries.

thanks,

john

wankski

hey mate,

what car is it? AFAIK the 164 already has the mechanical tensioner... trhe reason for this is the 75/90 tensioner is a hydraulic unit, which if leaks, does so all over the belt... smart eh?

opinion is divided over what is best, some feel they can rebuild the hydro unit well and loctite to keep sealed, some perfer to block teh port and fit the 164 mech tensioner... your call!

The belt ought be changed with idler and tensioner. I would just replace the pump, it's not too expensive and the reason for this is it runs of the main cam belt, so if it stuffs itself completely it can let go of the belt.... its not worth the risk... especially if you don;t know the history of all the pulleys and pumps....

i'd just go w/ US/UK suppliers myself... Aus prices are very high in comparison...

johnnyc

wanski,