1975 2000 GT Veloce Road test

Started by w47ty, January 15, 2010, 09:50:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

w47ty

Hi,

I am looking to buy a 1975 200 GT Veloce. I am no mechanic (well not yet anyway)  Is there anybody out there who would be willing to come along with me on wednesday 20 Jan to Summerhill, Sydney to inspect it.  I imagine the morning would be the best time.

I would appreciate any help as I am sure there are some common or known issues that I may not know about. If there is no one who can come along I would welcome any advice as to what I should be on the look out for.

If you need any further information then let me know

cheers

chris
75 2000 GTV
88 3.0 V6 75

urraco

Hi, here is a link to a previous question similar to yours .....  with answers.

http://www.alfaclubvic.org.au/forum/index.php?topic=1562.msg7233#msg7233

Personally I would buy a car with a small amount of rust ( I have done this, BUT small is the important word as the cost in $$ and time to do rust repairs is large.) In saying this I should also say that before I purchased my first 105 I looked at about ten and a few of these I would not have been game to go for a test drive in they were so unsafe!  Significant rust will prevent renewal of registration.  Almost every 105 has some rust but I would avoid a car showing bubbling around the front and rear screen. Typical rust areas are, front floor, door bottoms, lower edge of front and rear guards, the sills below doors, boot floor .... around tank lip and bottom of spare wheel well, the front lip below the radiator, the front cross member.  Use a fridge magnet to check all these areas for signs of body filler (the magnet will not stick to body filler) Try to get the seller to provide a standard Safety Check Report (the one you get to renew the rego.)