74 alfetta 1.8 , my new mission

Started by GTV6FLETCH, July 22, 2020, 08:37:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

GTV6FLETCH

Hey all,
very happy to say I have become the custodian of my late Uncle's pride and joy.
A 10/74 Le manns blue Alfetta 1.8 with 52000 miles.
From what I can remember and am told, he was a mechanic by trade and loved Alfa's and Fiat's , our immediate family all drove Alfa's and Fiats and he was the family mechanic.
My 1st car back in 1990 was a 69 Fiat 125 ( I loved that car ) , then I purchased my 2nd car , a 79 GTV 2L of said uncle .
At that time he drove a Fiat 132 as his daily driver and said 1.8 lived in his garage and was only ever driven on special occasions.
Mum drove a Fiat 132 GLS , Sister drove a beautiful green Alfetta 2L and I had acquired a few more 125's by then (Always had plans to totally rebuild one - never did though )
My Uncle and sister went through several 2L alfetta's for a few years whilst I had a few 2L GTV's .
Around 2005 our uncle passed away and he left his pride and Joy to my sister.
She took it to QLD from Sydney and had it registered and enjoyed it for a few years .
around 2012 she bought a Giulietta QV and the rego on the Alfetta lapsed and it then spent the last 8 odd years parked in a farm shed.
Until 2 weeks ago when I drove up to QLD with car trailer and brought it home to take over as caretaker to a very special car .
I intend to get it on club rego asap and relive many childhood memories from this beautiful car .
Cheers all
Adam...
Now
81-GTV-2.5L
86-GTV6-GP
13-MITO (WIFEY'S)
74-ALFETTA SEDAN 1.8
Gone
multiple GTV 2L

bonno

Hi Adam
I suppose your mission is to get her up and running and carry out any necessary work to get her back on the road ASAP. Best method of attack for this is to develop a simple plan, together with a budget and timeframe to have this done. The plan should cover the following areas;