Help with Alfa ID

Started by alfadude, January 20, 2019, 08:36:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

alfadude

Hi all,

Was wondering if someone can help me to identify the exact model in the link below. Particularly the year if possible. The one I'm interested in is the white one, second from the top with the yellow lights. I think it is an Alfetta, but I am struggling to find any more details after that as there seems to be muddy info out there when it comes to Alfetta's, GT's, GTV's, Veloce's etc. I have a feeling it is late 70's, before the GTV series that have the larger bumpers on the front and the bigger engines.
If I am going to have a project car, this is what I will aim for, given that I can afford one in reasonable condition.

https://www.themechanists.com/2018/02/05/monday-money-just-a-cool-alfa/

Also, are there many of these around, and what kind of price would I be looking at?
Thanks.

poohbah

I'm no expert, but I'll have a go for you. (I have a '81 GTV myself)

The white one looks like a modified late '70s GTV 2.0L - with front bumper removed and bigger wheels fitted (maybe off a Alfa 75?). the plastic bumper model was introduced in '81, and had a different rear quarter triangle vent (like the one on the red GTV6).

The last series of chrome bumper models had the vents with "GTV" cutout. I may be wrong, but I believe only the 2.0L models had the GTV vent.

The earlier GTs - which had 1.6 and 1.8L engines - had a more conventional rear quarter vent with straight gills.

To answer your question, there aren't that many around, and the chrome bumper models are especially hard to find. Though I saw a decent one in Tasmania advertised on FB about a week ago.

*Correction - the plastic bumper model came out in Europe in 1980, and yes only the later chrome bumper 2.0L models had the GTV vent.

Plus - you won't find one in Oz with yellow headlights - I think they are a curiosity of French-licensed cars of the period.
Now:    2002 156 GTA
            1981 GTV