Alfa Romeo 2008 - 147 -Selespeed - Car turned off while driving - wouldn't start

Started by Rajat, May 15, 2017, 03:21:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rajat

Hi Guys

I am new to Alfa - driving 147 selespeed 2008 model. I am facing this issue from past couple of days. It happened to me 3 times now.

1st time: I was waiting for lights to go green and car was in 1st gear - and car switched off on the road and when i try to restart again - engine would turn but car wouldn't fire up.  I pulled the car to the side and as i was about to give up it fired up after about 20-30 min.

2nd time : it was parked and it wouldn't start - but 5 min later it started again.

3rd time: today morning again on traffic lights  was in neutral - switched of again on me - engine would turn but same story - after 25 min start again.
Straight after that drove to MIDAS oakleigh(Mechanic) today - he said could not diagnose as they are really busy today - n asked me to come some other day.

Guys any clue what going on ? I have started to develop trust issues with my car.
Any help will be appreciated.

Neil Choi

Not a mechanic, crank angle sensor?
Take it to an Alfa mechanic. 
If it is CAS, should be an easy fix.

Rajat

@Neil Choi.. Thanks for your reply.. can crank angle be replaced/fixed at home.. Is there any video or pictorial representation for that?

Neil Choi

Sounds like CAS, starts and runs when cold, stops when hot, starts again when cooled.
But others who are real Alfa mechanics will confirm.  What do I know, I run LCMSMS's.

Try this.
http://www.alfaworkshop.co.uk/alfa_147_156_gt_crank_shaft_sensor_replacement.shtml

Mick A

Citroënbender

If the sensor is going open circuit, when it cranks but does not start there should be a flaky or absent movement of the tachometer needle.

Craig_m67

If it works when cold, then not when hot... crank angle sensor.
There will be an ECU error code if you can get them read to confirm this.