Spettacolo 2016 @ Wesley

Started by SusSelesp, November 04, 2016, 11:52:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

SusSelesp

Hi all,

I'm new to Alfas' and planning to come along with my recently acquired 159 for this event.

Are many others planning to attend this year? Any tips for getting there from those who have attendended in prior years?

All the best and hope for good weather!  8)

kaleuclint

Get there early.

Feel free to bring your dog along!  Nobody has ever said I can't (and there are no Wesley signs saying you can't) so Baci is a veteran of three Spettacolos.

Now -- a big issue for me over recent years has been the shambolic catering, meaning you wait nearly an hour for your wood fired pizza because they can't control the ordering.  Very annoying to miss out on the award presentations more than once because of this.  I believe this issue might be resolved this year; anyway -- eat early!!

I might actually turn up in an Alfa this year (never carry dogs in my Alfas!) but my 159 will be parked outside as I don't do the 'on the lawn' thing.  Literally: don't judge me!!

The bonus for Spettacolo is that the Porsche 356 Register usually holds a more private gathering next door same day at the Deaf School.  There is a gap in the fence between the two schools.
2011 159ti 1750TBi

Sheldon McIntosh

If you're new to Alfas it's a must-see.  You'll get a good idea of the history and why the name is so highly regarded.  There is often cars from the 30s, and other cars right through to the present day, and there is always some very special and expensive landmark cars. 

Polish the car and drive it into the oval, best parking you'll get!  Good way to meet other 159 owners, learn of any issues, make friendships etc.  Alfa people are the best people;  strike up some conversations, ask people about their cars, you'll be amazed by what you learn about the Alfa story.