8V TS Variator Adjustment

Started by MD, March 21, 2014, 03:33:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MD

Does anyone have information about the degree value of each tooth position on the variator. Would appreciate the info if you do.
Transaxle Alfas Haul More Arse.

Current Fleet
Alfetta GTV6 3.0
Alfetta GTV Twin Spark supercharged racer
75 1.8L supercharged racer

Past Fleet
Alfa GT 3.2V6
Alfetta GTV 2.0
Giulia Super 2.0
Berlina 2.0

jla987

Not sure I understand the question properly as I've had no experience with the 8V variator, but if I do:

Count the number of teeth, divide 360° by that number.

MD

Yep agreed on procedure. I am trying to avoid doing that if there is a published figure. The reason I say that is because I suspect we are (possibly) going to arrive at fractions of degrees as well as avoiding to take my engine apart just to make the count.
I was also hoping to discover a technique of fine adjustment if there is any opportunity at all to do that. I have yet to pull the variator apart and see just how the sucker works and what you can and cannot do with it.

On a separate note but related to cam adjustment, does anyone know if you can fit a conventional sprocket in place of the TS variator to turn it into a "standard" camshaft like the exhaust cam?

Current Fleet
Alfetta GTV6 3.0

Past Fleet
Alfa GT 3.2V6
Alfetta GTV 2.0
Giulia Super 2.0
Berlina 2.0

jla987

Ahh I see what you mean. It's a nice little mechanism. A solenoid controls oil pressure inside the variator depending on engine revs. A hydraulic piston pushes against the camshaft which is mounted in a helical spline. So that linear movement from the piston turns the cam however many degrees relative to the sprocket (25° rings a bell).
But that's really all I know - which is based on the 156 variator which is a little different (no dog clutch on the sprocket for one thing)