how do i remove the lower timming chain

Started by mario-jnr, March 29, 2010, 09:19:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mario-jnr

ok ive bit the bullet and putting a 2ltr into my jnr but i want to freashen it up a bit
so far engine on engine stand,sump off oil pump off,front timming case is off,now ive hit a snag i need to pull the crankshaft out but i dont know or see a easy way to remove the lower timming chain,
im only a novice mechanic but i can do this with a little help of my fellow alfisti so can anyone help with some solid advise thanks

Colin Byrne

the 2 sprockets of the lower timing chain will both come off together by sliding the bottom sprocket off the end of the crankshaft.  The top sprocket is just sandwiched between the block and the front cover, so with the front cover off it will just slide out of the block.  Once both sprockets are removed together you can take remove the sprockets from the chain
good luck
72' 105 2000 GTV Red (tarmac rally/race car)
74' 105 2000 GTV Blue (road car)
68' 105 1600 Giulia Super White (Not sure yet)
01' Nissan Pathfinder (Tow car/Alfa support vehicle)

mario-jnr

ok thats what i thought so i will have to remove the top timing chain first colin easiest way to do this is ? how sorry for the dumb questions but i would rather ask first than charge like a bull into it and stuff something up oh and head is still on the block

Colin Byrne