Hey, from Tassie.

Started by mozo, March 20, 2013, 09:37:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mozo

Hi all,

I'm a newbie that doesn't even own an Alfa! Yep, I know, 'what a loser'. But here's my story that I shared on alfabb.com the other day. I was wisely advised by a member of that forum to join up here as well.
I'll do a shorter story tonight: Essentially I'm a 42 year old male that always wanted an Alfetta GTV back when I was around 17-20 years of age. Various factors stopped me:
(1) An unsupportive father who simply hated anything exotic. If it wasn't a Chevy or a Valiant, it simply wasn't a car!
(2) The price. I was a young apprentice all said and done on $90 a week.
(3) The price of insurance. Category 3 Sports Coupe! Cost more than the car.

Since then other factors have gotten in the way, but I've decided that now is the time for me to buy myself an Alfa as a keeper. I'm looking for one that I can restore, but with limited mechanical skills, it can't be too bad to begin with. I'm after an Alfetta GTV (of course - what else?) around the 1977 - 1980's model that had the steel bars and the GTV badging in the rear quarter vent. Not fussed between GTV6 or 2000. As said, it can't be too bad. Preferably registered so I can drive it to the various joints for repairs/restorations. I can't have anything that's mechanically too unsound, or a rust bucket (I know they rust, and I am prepared for some), but so I can drive it now, and love it as I fix it over the next few years. I fully expect to respray, reupholster and all those things, in addition to keeping it mechanically sound.

If you have such a baby that you or a friend wants to part with, but don't want to see it go to somebody who will thrash it or simply won't love it, please let me know. I'm very keen to start my life with Alfa's - FINALLY! I can pick up from VIC or NSW as well as Tassie or course.