New GTV6 Owner

Started by Albygtv, July 02, 2012, 10:57:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Albygtv

Hi Everyone,

Bought a GTV6 in Brisbane on Friday, so I feel the need to share my excitement. The purchase came about because I hope to retire soon and at the start of the year thought it was time to buy a classic that would keep me interested and passionate about cars when I have more time on my hands. I've owned over 80 cars including a couple of stepnose 105's, a Porsche 911, 4 Alpine Renaults, a number of off-road racing buggies, some dirt rallying cars and a tarmac rally car. So, any car that would keep my interest up for a long period has a lot to live up to. On the other hand, I've had lots of experience to work out what I like.

I need a classic, sporty car, not common, good performance and handling, good enthousiastic club, preferably a great competition record  and a car or brand that ignites passion. Truth be told, I very quickly narrowed my list down to a Porsche 911 or 944, Triumph TR8 or Capri V6 and my wife, Di, and I had some enjoyable trips around the country looking at samples of these cars. Saw some good ones, but always kept a niggly feeling that they weren't quite what I really was looking for.

Then about 2 months ago I saw a car I had overlooked drive past where I was standing. It was a red Alfetta GTV and I was instantly hooked. I knew a lot about these cars as I had nearly purchased one a few times in the past but somehow had forgotten about them. This time, I raced home and got down all my alfa books, jumped on the PC and did more research, and knew I had found the perfect combination for me - finally a car that ticked all the boxes. Only 2 issues left - finding the right one, and should it be a 2 litre or V6?