Alfa 33 16v not starting

Started by 33racer, May 21, 2012, 07:09:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

33racer

Hi guys

Ive recently built a 1.6 16v motor for my race 33 but im having trouble to get it started its got spark and fuel getting to it. and it combusts the fuel every now and then but usually as a big flame out the exhaust pipe. Does anyone know what is wrong or how to fix it. ive also tried changing the timing but nothing. also atm im just using the standard motronic ecu.

Any help appreciated

Regards
Steve

colcol

I was told when i was an apprentice,[shortly after the invention of electricity], that there are 3 reasons a car will not start, 1. no spark, 2. no petrol, 3. no compression, you say you have spark, and there is fuel, how about compression?, do a compression test, [i know that is difficult in a 16 valver], and see how it looks, also check your timing belts are timed right, they can be timed ok, so the valves don't hit the pistons, but they can be 180 degrees out, as i found out once, it would fire, but not run properly, also, have everything at Top Dead Centre, and see if you look like you are getting spark, just take off ignition lead, and bump it over by hand, to make sure you are getting a spark around Top Dead Centre, by removing spark plug and shorting out to see for spark, Colin.
1974 VW Passat [ist car] 1984 Alfa 33TI [daily driver] 2002 Alfa 156 JTS [daily driver]

Frank Musco

Steve

I second the distributor being 180 out. Cross the leads opposite to each other and it should start if that's the problem.

Was the car running well before you built the race engine?

I'm very interested in what you've built. Should get some very scary high revs out off it! I've considered building a de-stroked 1700...one day...

good luck.

colcol