164 Tranny - Who's the Guru ?

Started by Beatle, November 09, 2007, 05:18:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Beatle

The tranny in my relatively new (to me) 164 seems to change just a tad too smoothly and I suspect it may be a warning that it's not the best.  The car has 177thousandish KMs and seems to have been well serviced its whole life.  The tranny also seems to be a little slow getting drive when transiting from reverse into forward gears.

The 'problems' are very subtle and I have no other 164 experience against which to judge the transmission operation, so maybe they are all like this ?

Otherwise, it changes well under hard acceleration and changes down nicely when slowing.

Any comments or recommendations gladly accepted.  What's a good fluid to service the transmission with ?

Thanks,
Paul B
QLD

Past:
'79 GTV - Loyal 1st love
'76 GT - Track entry
'89 75TS - Saved
'76 Alfetta - Sacrificed
'83 GTV6 - NT bullet
'67 Duetto - Fun
'66 Super - Endearing
'92 164 - Stunning
'85 90 - Odd
'04 GT 3.2 Rosso/Tan - Glorious
'02 156 V6 Auto Rosso/Tan - Useful daily

Evan Bottcher

*bump* - anybody got experience with 164 transmissions?
Newest to oldest:
'13 Alfa Mito QV
'77 Alfasud Ti
'74 Alfasud Sedan
'68 1750 GTV
--> Slow and Fun - my Alfa journal

Doug Gould

I had 2 164's. I found that regular fluid changes helped a lot. I changed annually (or maybe a bit more frequently). I tried additives, but I'm unconvinced. I think it uses Dexron II and not Dexron III (it is important regardless of what the bottle might say). I think the owners manual will tell you. Its a simple & strong gearbox (and I think one of the best I've driven). Its also used in SAAB 900 & a couple of BMW's. Adjustment of the kick down cable is absolutely critical. Its easy to do and I forget the details, but I think you are looking for about 3mm of slack in the cable with the accelerator pedal untouched.