Alfa 156 Radio starting on its own

Started by George Kolliou, May 11, 2011, 05:56:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

George Kolliou

I am new to Alfa, and have owned a 2005 156 TI since December 2010.

I was away for a few days and has the car parked by valet parking. In the morning the radio was playing. I also  found that when I turn the radio off, while driving, after abour 5 minutes the radio starts playing on ots own.

Any Ideas?

shiny_car

I've really only heard of similar issues in the 147/GT Blaupunkt 937 model headunits. But the 156 versions are probably not much different.

Ultimately, it can be a faulty headunit. Probably not worth having fixed/replaced. If it's the same fault described by others, keep a CD in the headunit at all times, which seems to prevent the radio coming on in a mysterious manner!

If you already have a CD loaded...I'm out of ideas.

:)
Giulietta QV TCT . 1.75 TBi . Magnesio Grey - Black
GT . 3.2 V6 . Q2 . Kyalami Black - Red
75 . 3.0 V6 . Alfa Red - Grey

bix

You could try disconnecting the battery for a short spell to reset any gremlins. Let us know how you get on.

hammer

George,

I have exactly the same model 156 and have the same mystery radio issue. Put in a new battery at one point but the radio still randomly turns itself on. Very strange. The good point is that the battery seems to power the radio for a hell of a long time without running low on power.

I figured it was just one of those crazy Italian electrical gremlins and really gave it no further thought.

Cheers,

Brent

colcol