Using TS 8V camshafts in Alfetta NORD engine?

Started by 82Alfetta, July 21, 2010, 02:52:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

82Alfetta

G'day

I've heard and read somewhere that the Twin Spark 8V cams can be used as an alternative "performance" cam for the NORD engine as the lift is around 11.98 for the TS while the 10548 cam is about 10-ish.

I am no mechanical engineer, but I'm wondering if this has been done / CAN be done? Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Syed
"Men change gears using the Clutch, Paddles are for Women with high heels..."

MD

I don't believe the cams on the engines are interchangeable. They simply wont fit.
Transaxle Alfas Haul More Arse.

Current Fleet
Alfetta GTV6 3.0
Alfetta GTV Twin Spark supercharged racer
75 1.8L supercharged racer

Past Fleet
Alfa GT 3.2V6
Alfetta GTV 2.0
Giulia Super 2.0
Berlina 2.0

82Alfetta

Quote from: Sportiva on July 21, 2010, 05:40:16 PM
G'day Syed

The 75TS engine hase a cam variator on the inlet camshaft, I dont know if the distance between the cam lobes or the bearing caps and there diameters has altered between the nord and the TS but
I would think some machine work would be needed to match the TS cams to a nord engine
10548 camshafts were used in 105 and 116 Alfas before Australian standard  86a was introduced in the mid 70's these camshafts were "pre pollution camshafts"..........  blame the Califorians!!!!!!!!    
Australia  adopted  a similar pollution attitude at the time.. as a result performance suffered and not just  for Alfas
The reference for camshafts after 86a was 1053200???
The engines you have in maylaysia might have been different ?? maybe you recieved Australian spec ?
The 10548 is not a HOT cam but compeared to the 1053200 you will notice a change in engine performance  

Cheers Sportiva