Can you fix flat spots?

Started by Jack, September 09, 2006, 12:04:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jack

I'm a bit of as newbie to classics and the reulting issues.
Could anybody help me out here?
The Spider I now own was to the best of my knowledge parked for a bit more
than a year in storage.
I've have the wheelsa balanced but still get a big vibration at aroung 90km.
Funny thing was it felt like an up/down vibration rather that steering wheel shake.
The tyres are Malaysia made, not top qual.
On jacking the car and spinning the front wheels there is a very definite flat dip on the tread.
I doesnt seem to be the rim as it spins vaguely round, but look at the tread as
it's spinning and there's this visual blip,blip of the line of outer circumference.
I dont know anything about flat sopts created from long term inactivity.
Could this be that?
Is it fixable?
Cheers
1975 Veloce

lance

G'day Jack,

Thought someone may have replied to your vibe question already, but it seems not. Sounds like if your car has stood for a year or so without turning a wheel the tyres will definately be ....ed. Alot of cheaper tyres are out of round even when new and just get worse as they age. Some tyre shops have facilities to buff the tread on the case to true them up but if, as you've suggested, they're not good quality to begin with maybe it's time for a new set.

Most tyre/rim balance probs. present at around 80-100 k's or thereabouts and if it's the front you'll usually feel it thru the steering wheel, if it's the rear thru the seat etc. If they're flatspotted or separated you'll often feel a bumping sensation at really low speeds too. Good luck with the Spider, might catch you (and him) on the Sept. 17th  EMR. :)

Beatle

Jack,

You could try inflating the tyres to about 45/50PSI for a while to see if that helps.

***   SAFETY SAFETY SAFETY   ***