2007 2.2 Ti Selespeed issues

Started by Astroboy56, February 17, 2021, 02:47:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Astroboy56

G'day All, first post however been reading the forum for years and it's been the best source of info!!!
I purchased a 2007 159 2.2 Ti about 4 years ago and love the Alfa!!!
Being an ex mechanic I have done all my own work such as suspension, electrical and everything else however I need assistance with a selespeed issue. While driving recently the car started dropping into neutral, I stop turn it off for a few minutes and then it's OK again. However now it is starting to happen on a regular basis. The alfa has done 220k Km's and is running fine, I have changed all the fluids and removed the accumulator and it seems OK, I think it may be a hydraulic problem so I plugged in the multiscan (which I am still working out) and looking at the hydraulic pressure with the car stopped and running it only goes to 44 bar so I am thinking now it could be a pump problem? When I open the drivers door I can hear the pump prime and with the ignition on I can hear the pump kick in every second gear change so as with all the info I have seen in the posts everything seems OK.  Any assistance or ideas would be appreciated as I do not like taking my car to a mechanic ( nothing against mechanics ha ha) because I like to work on my own cars!!

bazzbazz

In the 159/Brera series the Selespeed hydraulic system operates between 36.5 & 46 Bar.

At 220,000 kms I would say your accumulator may not be holding pressure properly, if the system detects low pressure it drops to neutral automatically to prevent the car stalling while stuck in gear.

It could also be the Pump is worn as well, when you turn off the car and restart it, the vibration can be enough to shake the brushes loose. So I would recommend replacing both pump & accumulator together, if the budget will allow.