no stranger to Alfas, but new to this forum.

Started by redalfaracing, December 06, 2008, 11:17:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

redalfaracing

I have been playing with Alfa's for about 7 years now. Started with a "79 Alfetta. Rusty old thing, my son Jamey and i used it for motorkhanas and autocross/ hillclimbs. Drove it for 2 years in standard class, no mods and road tyres. did ok, got some plastic trophies, won 1st standard class in the victorian autocross super series both years. decided to go rallying... what a blast. You may not drive your Alfas off the black top but let me tell you, when set up properly they sure hold their own. Fitted v6 torsion bars, removed every thing that wasn't required and lightened everything else. 75 discs calipers wheels, konis, twin spark 1st 2,875:1 and 2nd 1.72:1, standard 3rd 1.35:1, 1.13:1 4th and a .946:1 5th with a 75 platinium lsd with 2 extra plates and a 4.3 final drive from a 1.8 75 and i have a weapon. weighs 1020 kgs ready to rally, 4th outright 1st rally, 1st under 2 litre and 1st novice 1st season, and that was with a bog standard engine( 10548 cams though)
Now i own 8 Alfas in various stages of decomposition. Still have the '79 Alfetta (but it is having a rebuild)
That leads me to why i joined this forum. I am building a GTV6 rally car. Figure it will probably go ok. Greg Carr won the Australian Rally Championship with a 2.5 GTV6 in 1987, but i am going to slot a 12 v 3.0 litre in mine. i have a '77 shell ready to cage and all the bits to bolt in, planning to have it ready to run in about June, do a couple of shake down rallies and get fair dinkum in the Alpine rally in December .
I ran into a couple of AROC club members at a CAMS shindig last month and they suggested that i join this forum ( and AROC, which i will do). I am currently a member of Pakenham Auto Club and have my Alfetta CH plated through them. Maybe someone could get me some info on AROC ( joining procedure and meeting details).