GTV6 Carby Conversion

Started by shane wescott, November 15, 2008, 08:23:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

shane wescott

Hi Guys

Might sound like a dumb one (happy to ask dumb things). Has anyone, could anyone convert a GTV6 from injection to a carby setup. Is there a kit ??

Of course this would all have to be done with the relevent emmission regulations being met, but just curious if it would be possible.

I must confess I know bugger all about, and am quite scared of fuel injection and car computers (funny seeing I work in the IT industry), so that is the angle for my question.

Thanks in advance for replies.

Catch ya

Shane
Current Cars:

No Alfa's :-(

Previous Cars:
1991 White 164
86 White GTV6 Zender Body Kit
90 Red 75 TS
98 Blue GTV 2.0
85 Red 33 1.5 TI
85 Red 33 1.7 Carby
83 Silver 33 1.5 GCL
70 Blue Berlina 1750
70 White Berlina 1750

70 White Berlina 1750 (my first)

Current Bikes:

2002 Yellow Ducati ST2 944

Mat Francis

correct me if i'm wrong, but didnt the 200 or so 3L south african gtv6's have triple downdraft webers?

i wouldnt say dumb shane, i reckon the noise of such a device would be unreal. i would definately be a fan of such a conversion.
'83 Alfetta Sedan TS
'88 75 3.0
'85 Land Rover County
'87 Land Rover Perentie

shane wescott

Yes the sound of a GTV6 with webers - could there possibly be anything better.

First thing to do after the conversion would be to remove the stereo, you'd never use it again, and forget about a hands free kit, I have enough trouble already hearing the conversation :-)  --but I love it:-)

Catch ya

Shane
Current Cars:

Previous Cars:
1991 White 164
90 Red 75 TS
98 Blue GTV 2.0
85 Red 33 1.5 TI
85 Red 33 1.7 Carby
83 Silver 33 1.5 GCL
70 Blue Berlina 1750
70 White Berlina 1750

70 White Berlina 1750 (my first)

Current Bikes:

2002 Yellow Ducati ST2 944

Sheldon McIntosh

The Alfa 6 had six dellortos on the 2.5 V6 from memory.  That'd be fun to balance.

Bonnet may be too low on the GTV though?