Entering a world of pain - restoring my 1984 GTV 2.0

Started by MattK, May 14, 2018, 10:12:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

MattK

So - I've owned this car for 12 years but it's been off the road for 4 ... a friend borrowed it and broke something in the gearbox (I think, can't recall). Anyway it has been sitting outside, unloved, and it's reached the point where I either need to fix it up or move it on, otherwise there won't be a car to make a decision about any more.
Engine is basically sound, gearbox needs a fix, and the plan is to find a good painter to do it from bare metal. Unsure whether to take out the engine, finding storage would be a challenge and the paint inside the engine bay is fine.
Obviously I need to cut and replace the mud trap on the right front wing, otherwise just a few little crunches at the headlight margins and one on the rear.
I've never done anything remotely like this before. Got a mate who is an experienced Alfa mechanic but would appreciate any advice and insights. I'm not a huge fan of red cars but for simplicity's sake and historical correctness I plan to keep it in factory colours (including the 1984-only "gunmetal lower body" look).
Engine will need new fuel hoses and all that stuff - any tasteful upgrades / fixes I should be looking at? Was considering one of the electronic ignition kits I saw on the Highwood Alfa website.

rowan_bris

MattK

Duh, as soon as I read that I thought oh yeah, it does!

Paul Gulliver

I think you first of all need to establish a budget and work out  what you want from the  car . Is it going to be a daily driver again , a weekend car or something better than that.  If it is going to be anything other than the later. I would be concentrating on getting the mechanicals working so it is drivable /  possibly saleable .