Any Engineers out there? Engineering question heip

Started by alanm, March 05, 2018, 08:04:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

alanm

Hi all,

This is Cooper Alan's son, I have started engineering at uni and am trying to join the Monash Motorsport team. The interview requires me to solve a problem which I am having some significant trouble with given my weeks worth of engineering knowledge. Any help or guidance would be much appreciated. I have had a look at the Mhor's Circle hint however I can't wrap my head around how to use it in the question.

Thanks

Present
1987 75 TS Rosso
2001 GTV V6 Nero
2001 156 V6 Monza Rosso
Past
1986 GTV6 Grand Prix
1988 33

kaleuclint

Thinking tension and shear load on the pole maximized when the wind and the 'flag' are in the same plane.  Which would be at the static bottom as opposed to the dynamic top under load (i.e. the pole should flex before failing).  Don't overthink it.

I'm only a military engineer (akin to civil) mind...

Good luck with the team, Cooper!  When I worked at Monash I used to occasionally walk through their workshop to see was happening with the Formula SAE car.
2011 159ti 1750TBi

Divano Veloce

Its been a while, but this is how I would approach it:

1. determine second moment of pressure for the sign, this gives you torque in the tube from wind pressure

2. do a free body diagram to determine compression and bending moment in the tube (dont forget the mass of the tube or the bending from the wind pressure)

3. apply the sum of the bending, torsion and compressive stresses to an internal stress element at point x

4. draw the net stresses on a mohrs circle to determine maximum stress at point x

5. compare this maximum stress to mild steel elastic limit (assuming failure occurs with any plastic deformation)

Good luck, sounds like a great opportunity!

1968 Berlina TS
1989 75 TS
1990 75 TS
2007 147 JTD

Cooper75ts