Electrical issue; Dash Lights

Started by gtv6sv, April 14, 2017, 09:12:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

gtv6sv

Hey guys,

My GTV6's clock, speedo and tachometer dash lights were working fine one night then when I turned the car back on after driving they did not light up at all.  The dash lights in the middle (fuel, oil pressure etc) still work.

Does anyone know the cause of this or how to fix? I'm not  auto electrical savvy so any sort of advice is much welcomed!

Thanks in advanced, Stefan.
1970 1750 Berlina
1983 GTV 2.0
1985 GTV6 2.5
1991 164 Q 12V
1992 33 16V S
1999 GTV Twin Spark

bonno

Hi GTV6SV
I am no auto electrician, but what you have described, I initially suspected a blown fuse, but you say the lights for the instrument cluster are working not the others. I would still check the fuses to see they are all ok, but if not then I suggest your instrument cluster globe/s have blown or  the instrument cluster is shot (are instruments working if so you can rule out shot instrument cluster). Quite easy to replace just undo 4 screws that hold the instrument cluster onto the dash and carefully remove with the associated wiring connecter, replace blown globes and your back in business. Just one important point when you start this job is to disconnect the battery or you could cause some other damage like one other forum member did recently with a burnt wire causing him to remove the dashboard and repair burnt wires resulting from a short. This was not me by the way.
Cheers
bonno

gtv6sv

Hi Bonno,

Cheers for that! Gauges are still working so let's just hope it is just the lights!

I have check the fuses and they all seem to be in proper working order, no splits or black burnt bits.

Will definitely disconnect the battery, last thin I need is to burn out the electrical system haha!
1970 1750 Berlina
1983 GTV 2.0
1985 GTV6 2.5
1991 164 Q 12V
1992 33 16V S
1999 GTV Twin Spark

V AR 164

Hey mate,