Best Alfa service centre/ gearbox error

Started by RJC, October 19, 2016, 10:52:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

RJC

Hi all.

I just got my hands on a 2007 Brera 2.2 Selespeed and I am already getting very attached. I moved on from a Renault Sport Clio, which was a great little car, but suffered in the reliability stakes. Which is a good segue for this topic.

The car has relatively low K's for its age (only 47--- on the clock). It has a full logbook service from Zagame's, but I don't think it has actually been serviced since mid 2014 (only done 5000 K's since last service mind you). So my question is:

- Where do you suggest to get the car serviced? As I am new to the Alfa game, I don't want to get ripped off, but I also want to make sure the car is well looked after.

Another peculiar thing happened today while I was exiting the work car park. There are some very steep speed humps that require you to come to an almost complete stop. As I attempted to creep over the hump, I applied some throttle, and nothing happened, the car then sounded the error alarm and a warning appeared stating that the gearbox needed attention. I put the car into neutral, and then back into drive - this seemed to have fixed the problem. Is this a common idiosyncrasy of the selespeed box?

Anyway, I really do hope that my Alfa experience in not only an enjoyable one, but also a long lived one as well.

Thanks for reading.

Cheers,

Rhyse.
2007 Brera 2.2 JTS Selespeed

Neil Choi

Usual answer:

Depending where you are located and convenient to you.

Maranello Pur Sang Brunswick Bruno
Monza Motors Bayswater Hugh
Mauceri Motors Clayton Seby

All trusted Alfa mechanics, all Alfa members, top two are life sentence members.

Domenic

There is also Northern Alfa (Vince) in Thomastown, has the factory tools and can do software updates so no need to go back to the dealer for stuff like that.

PM me if you need his details.

Jess159