Mystery part and is it possible to find a new one?

Started by Bourney, August 14, 2016, 09:23:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bourney

Hi,
It's been a while between posts. A friend and I have been working on my 83 Ti QV  for the last 14 months. It was off the road for 10 years, sitting in the previous owner's garage. He sold it as he was going into a retirement home.

All exterior and interior trim removed and engine and gearbox out.

The car was in amazing shape. No rust (it apparently had been to a panel beater in the late 90s and rust removed and the car fully repainted) and no sign of ever being in an accident.

The head was taken off but it was in great condition and only really needed a clean up, as do the webbers, etc. I am replacing many parts such as front calipers, clutch, thermostat, suspension cleaned up and repainted, new bushes, struts (turned out to have koni's so that was good) reconditioned, new hoses, clutch master cyclinder, kits through rear brakes, redone the interior and exterior trim, new Ronal A1s and tyres, etc. Lucky my labour and my mates is cheap as I gave purposely noted added up the invoices!

Engine, gearbox and front suspension are back in so hopefully we can finish it off in the next few months.

Colcol- thanks for the tip about cracks in the chassis rails. There is a hair line crack in each side which I am going have welded as suggested

Any hoo, this brings me the junction in the photos - can anyone tell me what it is actually called and a part number? Is it possible to find a new one?

Another part I am finding difficult to source is the brake line clip on the firewall - again any help would be appreciated.

Thanks David

colcol

Hello Bourney,
The brake clip, would have to be sourced from a parts car, or an Alfa Romeo Wrecker, or even just make one out of some sheet metal.
The other part is an oil breather junction, as part of the positive crankcase Ventilation system.